Thursday, February 10, 2011

How to Delete a Skype Account.

Skype is a Voice over Internet Protocol (VoIP) service. It provides phone service such as the ability to make and receive calls and retrieve voice mail over the Internet and on one's computer. Much like traditional phone services, Skype offers different plans, depending on the needs of the user.

If you need to remove Skype from your computer for any reason, please follow the following steps.


1. Cancel subscription
  1. Log in to your Skype account at The site will ask you for your username and password.
  2. Go to the "Subscription settings" link on the right side and click it.
  3. Click on the "Cancel subscription" link on the left side of the page. On the next screen, the system will ask you whether you are sure that you want to cancel your subscription. Click the "Yes" button. You will be prompted through the final steps. 
2. Disable auto recharge 
  1. Disable Skype's auto-recharge by logging in to your account at and going down to the bottom of the page where you will find payment settings.
  2. Click the "View settings" link. It will take you to your auto-recharge page. On it, click the "Disable" auto-recharge link.
  3. Log in to your Paypal account, if that is how you are funding Skype. Go to the profile tab below and to the right of the "My Account" tab.
  4. Click the "Pay List" link in the center of the next page.
  5. Find Skype in the list and click the link to adjust the billing details. Click the "Cancel" link under status. This will disable automatic payments being allowed to Skype. 
Tips and Warning! 
  1. Skype is a prepaid service. Purchase credit is lost if the user has no activity on the system for 180 days. Once a user has initiated a withdrawal from her bank account to pay for Skype services, she can cancel it.
  2. Do not use the system for 10 days so that your personal and public profile, which can be seen by other users, is deleted from the Skype system. These profiles are automatically deleted from the directory if the user does not use the system for about 10 days.