Thursday, March 10, 2011

Remove Autofill from Google

Google's browser, Chrome, and Google toolbar save all forms you submit. This saves time when you reuse data, but you might not like the feature. You may have entered so many items that seeing them again just distracts you. You may prefer to forget some entries you've typed. You may share the computer with others and want to preserve your privacy.

Google Chrome and Google Toolbar let you disable AutoFill, stopping them from recording future data entry. To delete old data, delete them from your browser as well.


Remove Autofill from Google Chrome
  1. Click on the wrench icon to open the "Tools" menu, and then choose "Options."
  2. Click the "Personal Stuff" tab.
  3. Click "Never save data on forms."
Remove Autofill from the Google Toolbar
  1. Click the down-arrow next to "AutoFill" on the toolbar.
  2. Select "Add/Edit profiles."

  3. Uncheck the box next to "AutoFill."
  4. Click "Save."
Remove Old Saved Data
  1. Click on the wrench icon to open the "Tools" menu.
  2. Click "Options."
  3. Click the "Under the hood."
  4. Click "Clear browsing data." This opens a new window.
  5. Click the "Clear saved form data" check box.
  6. Click on the "Clear data from this period" down-arrow, and select the period whose data you want to erase.
  7. Click "Clear browsing data."
Tips and Warnings
  • To prevent others from accessing your saved data, consider setting your own profile with the Google Toolbar or setting separate user accounts using your operating system.